Minister – Rev. David Morrison

Rev. David Morrison is our minister in Killead. David grew up on a sheep farm outside Cloughmills where he and his family attended Ballyweaney Presbyterian Church. While studying Medicinal Chemistry at Queen’s University in Belfast, he felt God calling him to change pathways to theology. He then proceeded to study for a Bachelor’s degree in Theology at Union Theological College in Belfast. Having graduated he then took up an internship in First Donaghadee Presbyterian church which led to a further four years as Community Outreach worker. David then felt the stirrings to full-time ordained ministry and was accepted to study again at Union Theological college, this time to study a Master’s exploring Christian Discipleship. After three years at Union college (2015-2018) he spent four years as assistant minister in Scrabo Presbyterian Church in Newtownards. David was ordained and installed as minister of Killead and Loanends in September 2022.

David is married to Barbara and they have four children; Hannah, Grace, Chloe and Phoebe. In his spare time if he gets it with four young children, he likes watching sports (particularly rugby), keeping active and increasingly plane-spotting. David’s heart is to see people grow in their relationship with God and sees his role as encouraging people to do so.

Killead Kirk Session

Minister:  Rev. David Morrison (front row centre)

Elders: (front l-r) Wilbert Hyde, Vanessa Lorimer, Tom Lewis, James McClurg, Rosemary Wilson, (back l-r) Sam Hyde, Lyle Mackey, Philip Patterson,  William Hyde, David McClenaghan, Denis Minford, Mervyn Rea

Congregational Committee

Front l-r. Ann Hyde, Vanessa Lorimer, Elizabeth Hyde, Rev. David Morrison, James McClurg, Rosemary Wilson, Catherine McMaster.

Middle l-r. Tom Lewis, Andrew Mackey, David Martin, William Hyde, David McClenaghan, William Lorimer, Mervyn Rea, Robert Stirling.

Back l-r. Sam Hyde, Lyle Mackey, Philip Patterson, Brian McComb, Irwin Martin, Andrew Hyde, Denis Minford.